Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
My kitchen diaries
Derniers commentaires
15 mai 2006

Spring, asparagus and zucchini...

Last friday, in the end of the afternoon, I was just back from the local supermarket with an empty basket, depressed from the lack of choice and determined not to cook that night when my dutchie called: his father was paying us a surprise visit... He had something to celebrate!

Good timing as I had prepared my dish for the next Blog Apetit event! It was perfect for a celebration and I would have two guinea pigs instead of one! I won't get into details about it now (I will tell you about it on the 23rd of may). However, I can tell you that it is a starter. The main dish was another story: the fridge was almost empty except from a few veal sausages and luckily some fresh zuchini and green asparagus. No way I would go back to the shop though... There was nothing inspiring to find there anyway! I first thought to keep it simple and serve the sausages with the vegetables sauteed and some plain rice. My dutchie is often complaining that I overdo it when we have guests! For sure I will prove him wrong this time...

That was counting without the Champagne! After a happy and animated borrel* with the three of us I thought I would get started with the dinner. Starter ready to serve, oven on, vegetables cleaned and chopped, water for the rice... Maybe it was the golden champagne bubbles... a naughty little voice inside of me suggested I couldn't just serve plain rice and sausages after such a nice drink and starter! I looked around my kitchen: rice, zucchinis, asparagus! And there was still some home made chicken stock in the fridge... There was room for a little twist in my cooking plans. Happy again, I got started. 20 minutes later dinner was on the table. My dutchie's father served himself three times!

risotto

Spring zucchini and asparagus risotto
(risotto printanier aux courgettes blanches et pointes d'asperges)

3 pers. prep: 10 min cook.:20 min

Ingredients:
2 white zucchini (light green in fact)
100 g green asperge tips
1 shallot
~300g basmati rice (risotto experts... do not scream: I had no arborio or risotto rice around!)
50 g parmezan cheese (grate it youself, it tastes so much better)
a few chive sprigs
1 Tsp. olive oil
a knob of butter

sea salt, pepper
2dl dry white wine (I used the chardonnay we started after the champagne)
5dl chicken stock

Chop the shallot and cut the zucchinis in small pieces. Warm up the stock. In a big pan, put half of the olive oil to heat. Add the shallot and after a few minutes the rice. Stir. When the rice is translucid, cover with the wine and some stock (my stock was well seasoned so I didn't add extra salt). Stir and lower the fire. Stir regularly and add some stock whenever it starts to dry out. Cook until the rice gets tender (about 15 min). In the mean time, heat the rest of the olive oil in a skillet. When the pan is hot add the zucchini and aparagus tips, season with salt and pepper. Stir fry for 5 min. Set aside. When the risotto is about ready add the vegetables and stir. Then add the grated cheese, the knob of butter, the chives and season to taste with fresh grinded pepper. Stir energically and serve immediately.

Bon appetit!

Publicité
Commentaires
My kitchen diaries
Publicité
Publicité