Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
My kitchen diaries
Derniers commentaires
9 avril 2006

Saturday night "fever"...

Yesterday afternoon, I left my man at home while I went ahead for a crazy shopping afternoon.
To compensate for my late return (long after all the shops had closed), I brought back a few delicacies for a romantic diner a deux. In my shopping basket were among others some guinea fowl and a dozen dutch oysters from Zeeland.

I entered the house like a tornado looking forward to show off my discoveries to my man,... only to found him lying on the couch, a plaid on his shoulders, looking back at me slowly with feverish eyes: "..... I'm siiiiiick". He smiled gently at me when he found out about the guinea fowl and the oysters and then mumbled... "can we go to bed early tonight?". How could I resist? The romantic dinner and the oysters would have to wait... (He was in no state to open them anyway). A quick and comforting dinner it had to be. After a quick look in my fridge and cupboards, I had gathered some fig mustard, as well as some honeycake mustard from Dijon brought from our latest trip to france and some Calvados bought in Normandy a couple of years ago... Half an hour later, diner was served! The fragrant smells of apple, mustard and calvados woke up his apetite.

pintade_calvadosmoutarde

Guinea fowl marinated in calvados and mustard
(supremes de pintade marines a la moutarde et au calvados)

2 pers. prep: 10 min, cooking: 10min

Ingredients:
2 guinea fowls breasts (~300g)
2 Tsp. mustard (I used a mix of fig and honeycake mustard)
5 Tsp. apple sauce
15 cl. calvados
1 shallot
10 g butter
sea salt, pepper

In a bowl, mix the mustard, half of the calvados, 2 Tsp. of apple sauce and the chopped shallot. Add the seasoned guinea fowl. Leave to marinate for as long as you wish can: 15 min was all I got!
Warm half of the butter in a pan. Put in the marinated breasts and the marinade and cook for about 7 to 8 min. Lower the fire when the meat is golden on both sides. When the meat is almost cooked, add the rest of the apple saus, butter and calvados. Raise the fire for 1 min to finish up the saus.
Serve promptly.

Bon appetit!

Publicité
Commentaires
My kitchen diaries
Publicité
Publicité